My Winter Hair Routine!

Hello lovelies! While New York is still hanging on by the finger tips to winter, I figured I’d share my Winter Hair Routine so you all know what I do to keep my hair hydrated and bouncy and curly and beautiful during the cold, dry, winter months! I have 3b/c hair and keeping it, or any kind of natural hair, hydrated and beautiful is a SCIENCE, let me tell you. This is what I’ve been doing so far, but keep your eyes peeled for updates very soon!

Let’s start with shower time. The downfall to my hair routine is that I can’t get 2nd day curls to look good, so I’m still doing a wash-n-go everyday. But, it’s really not that bad!

Now that it’s winter, I only have to shampoo my hair about once a week. I currently use the v05 Clarifying shampoo. I won’t link it because, and I’ll do a more intensive post on this later, curly haired people should really never put sulfates in our hair and this shampoo does have sulfates in it.

On the other hand, I condition my hair everyday with the Aussie Mega Moist Conditioner. I buy the big bottle of it because you go through this stuff so quickly. What I do is once I get in the shower, the first thing I do unless I need to shampoo, is put this conditioner on so it can sit on my hair the rest of the time that I’m in the shower. Now that I’ve cut my hair and it’s about shoulder length/almost a bob, I use 4 pumps of this. When it was longer, I would use about 7 pumps. As my last step in the shower, I detangle my hair just with my fingers and then rinse this out.

After I get out of the shower, I need to dry my hair. Now for all hair types, but especially my curly haired people, you should NEVER dry your hair with a towel. Those microfibers will just cling to your hair, and especially for curly hair towels just take too much moisture out of the hair, and that creates so much frizz that nobody wants! Instead, you should plop your hair into a cotton t shirt and wrap it up that way. What I mean by plopping is laying a t shirt down on a flat surface, like your bed, gathering all your hair on the top of your head, like you were about to make a messy bun or something, and “plopping” your head upside down onto that t shirt so that all your hair is still on top of your head, and then wrapping the t shirt around your head. This way, your hair will dry without getting a crazy amount of frizz! I do this and let my hair dry while I do my makeup, about 20 minutes, and then I return to my hair.

Some people will put in product before they plop and then diffuse/let their hair air dry after that, but I tend to plop my hair while it’s soaking wet so I put the product in after. Some people will also plop all night and take their hair out in the morning. I haven’t tried that but I definitely will soon and let you all know how it goes!

Now for product! Here’s what I use on an everyday basis.

Last year, I started doing what the curly haired community calls the LOC method and I’m never going back. That’s when you put in a leave-in conditioner, an oil, and then a cream product to style. For me, these products I have found are my holy grail products and I will never use anything different.

L: My leave in cream is R&B from LUSH. This product is AMAZING. It’s full of a crazy amount of ingredients like avocado butter, olive oil, and jojoba oil, that moisturize your hair, which is what curly hair needs! Also, it’s vegan and that’s always a plus!

O: I personally love using coconut oil for my hair. It doesn’t really matter what brand of coconut oil you use, I would just recommend getting Β it organic because the less chemicals you put on your curls, the better! It also doesn’t matter if it’s refined or unrefined coconut oil, but I would also recommend unrefined because I just feel like the less processed a product has to be, the better. Even though it doesn’t really matter, I’ve linked the Target brand of coconut oil because this was the smoothest one I’ve ever used and it was so nice to work with, unfortunately they don’t have the unrefined one online so I’ve left the refined version.

C: The cream I use is the Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk. I am IN LOVE with this product. It’s so light so you don’t need too much, and it smells amazing! Even on it’s own it will help control frizz and define curls so well. There is a styling cream version of this and I’ve tried it and hated it. It was such a thick formula and it really weighed down my hair. This milk is the exact opposite. Also, this brand is just an amazing company that prides itself on fair-trade ingredients and has never tested on animals! I’ve linked Ulta because they usually have this brand buy one, get one 50% off!

Then, I just let my hair air dry, for my hair at this length, it takes about an hour to start looking normal and about 4 to dry completely. If you’d like to blow dry your hair, if you have curly hair, you HAVE to use a diffuser. If not, all the work you put in to getting defined, frizz free curls will be gone.

Once a month usually, I do a hot oil treatment. I would do it more often, but your girl is lazy. I usually heat up olive oil in the microwave and put it on my hair at night. I usually leave it in for an hour or two and then wash it out, but you can leave it on for as long as you want!

And that’s all I do loves! Thanks for joining me for Day 2 of my 5 Days of Beauty. Let me know what products you love and what methods you use to keep your natural hair looking amazing and I’ll talk to you all tomorrow!

Love and light,
Leah

Leave a Reply

