Makeup 101: What to buy to start your makeup collection!

Hello lovelies! So this past weekend I performed in an opera (which was an amazing experience let me tell you ) and during tech week, we had to get into full costume, hair, and makeup for all the run-throughs of the show. That week, I learned that most of my friends knew nothing about makeup and the dressing room quickly became a makeup class (shoutout to Kristina for being my MVP co-teacher).

Obviously, it’s a-okay if you don’t like makeup or don’t want to wear it, but a little knowledge helps when you’re suddenly thrown into a situation like an opera where your face needs to be beat to the gods.

So, it gave me an idea for this blog to start a makeup 101 series! And, for today’s installment, I figured I’d start out with that the heck to even buy if you want to start wearing makeup! I’m going to keep everything on this post affordable/drugstore because I feel like that’s going to be the best route for a complete beginner.

||Brushes||
So there are a lot of brushes you’re going to need to start your collection and they are all for different things, I PROMISE, but here are some that I think will best aid you in your endeavor.

For foundation, get the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge . This thing is the best affordable sponge on the market. Also, if you’re just getting started with liquid foundation, applying it with a dampened sponge is a fool proof way of getting a beautiful, even application. This magical sponge will also beautifully blend out your concealer.

For all other brushes, I recommend buying from e.l.f or  Wet n Wild. For me, e.l.f. can be either hit or miss with the cut of the actual brush hairs and that can get frustrating, but the Wet n Wild brushes are not only adorable and high-quality, they’re also cruelty free and vegan!

||Primer||
The first step to applying makeup will always be your skincare routine which should end in  moisturizer. Your next step will be to apply a primer so that the rest of your makeup will have something to stick to, apply better, and last longer. For my oily skinned loves out there I would recommend NYX Shine Killer, Covergirl Trublend Primer for oily skin, or Milani mattifying Prime Shield. For all my other loves, try using any of the e.l.f primers or the other Covergirl Trublend primers!

||Foundation||
I will always recommend a liquid foundation because it’s going to be the easiest to apply and will give an even coverage on you face. Also, for someone new to makeup, I would recommend a light to medium coverage foundation because it will be easier to work with. For my oily skinned loves, I would absolutely recommend the Maybelline FitMe Matte + Powerless foundation. It will last all day and gives a beautiful light to medium and buildable coverage. For all other skin types, I would give the Covergirl TruBlend foundation a try. This is definitely a light coverage foundation and will last 6-8 hours max but it applies beautifully and will blend to your skin tone very well. Unfortunately, the color selection is horrible. I’ve also heard great things the Loreal Infallible line and the e.l.f. foundations as well.

||Concealer||
Okay so concealer has 2 purposes: 1, to cover anything your foundation didn’t, and 2, to brighten up the undereye area. Therefore, I will recommend 2 different concealers. For actually concealing any imperfections, absolutely grab the Maybelline FitMe concealer. This concealer is magic and will cover anything you need it to, but will also blend like a dream. To brighten your undereye, there is nothing better than the LA Girl Pro Concealer. I  love that stuff and will use it until I die.

||Setting powder||
If you have dry or normal skin ,you can skip right over this step! If you have oily or combination skin then keep reading. After you’ve applied foundation and concealer,  you’re going to want to set that product in place with powder. Especially if you have oily skin or parts of your face that are oily, setting with powder is going to help absorb that excess oil and make your makeup stay longer and look better for longer. I recommend the Coty Airspun translucent powder. If you have sensitive skin, look for the fragrance free version.

||Eyebrows||
If your eyebrows are naturally even and full then skip right over this step! If your brows have some sparse areas or are uneven then read on ahead. Filling in my brows is my favorite part of my makeup routine, there’s just something about some full brows that puts a spring in my step. With that said, grab the NYX microbrew pencil. Using pencil is going to be the easiest way to get the most natural looking filled in brows. Also, this pencil specifically is super thin to mimic actual brow hairs and it will last all day long!

||Mascara||
After brows, mascara is my next favorite part of my makeup routine. I love how glamorous and beautiful long lashes look and they’ll also make your eyes look so open and bright and awake! I would recommend grabbing the Covergirl Queen Collection False Lash Drama or the classic Covergirl Lashblast mascara. Both of these mascaras will make your lashes crazy long and voluminous without clumping them up.

||Highlight||
Highlighting is a gift given to us mere mortals from the makeup gods above. Unfortunately, there aren’t many fantastic drugstore options for it. But, you can grab the e.l.f. baked highlighters . They’re all beautiful shades and will give you a very light, natural glow.

||Blush||
Blush is what’s going to put a rosy, natural glow once you’ve evened your skin tone out with foundation. To be honest, any blush you find in the store will work fine as long as it’s the right shade for you. But, I personally love the e.l.f. blushes and the NYX HD Blushes. If you go the NYX route, remember they’re extremely pigmented so a little product really goes a long way!

||Setting Spray||
Setting spray is the final and most important key to making your look last all day! For my oily skinned loves, try the NYX Mattifying Setting Spray to help make your makeup last and to keep excess oil at bay. For all other skin types grab the e.l.f Makeup Mist & Set . For $3, this product is amazing and I still use it some days.

||Lips||
Lastly, is lips! To start your collection, I would grab a couple nude shades (whatever that means for your skin tone) so you can wear them in an everyday look. If you’re feeling a little adventurous, then grab a few darker vampy shades to wear out for a dramatic look. I love all of the Maybelline Color Sensational lipsticks and I have a million. They’re so creamy and pigmented and they last forever!

And that’s it! I hope if you’re looking to start a makeup collection sometime soon this list helped you out a bit! For the rest of this series, I’ll share some tips on how to actually apply and wear all of this stuff, other items to apply like eyeshadow and eyeliner and contour, and more tips on how to wear other types of makeup! Until next time,

Love and light,
Leah

Leave a Reply

