Hello my loves! Thank you for joining me in this new adventure, I can’t wait to start sharing everything I know and love about beauty with you. So, to kick this whole thing off, I figured we could start with the best and worst beauty products I used in 2016! (These are in no order!)

||Best||

Colourpop Ultra Mattle Lipsticks
Guys, I own 5 of these and I’m not joking when I say I want to buy the whole website every time I go on it. There is such a huge color selection and they’re all gorgeous. I’m not gonna lie, it’s a liquid lipstick so it is pretty drying, but not uncomfortably so and it applies beautifully over a chapstick and that helps with the dryness so much. For me, these have never applied patchy and they last all day even through eating a drinking. I love love love these and I’ll be ordering more forever. Side note, I have two of the metallic lips as well, and they’re also fantastic!
Get it here!

NYX Micro Brow Pencil
I love NYX as a brand in general, but I got this pencil because everyone said it was such an amazing dupe for the Anastasia Beverly Hills pencil, and lemme tell you it did not disappoint. I use this pencil everyday and my brows look natural, but full and shaped and it stays on all day. I set it with the e.l.f. clear eyebrow gel but you honestly don’t need to because it’ll stay on all the day. And when they say micro, they mean it because the tip is so thin it’s so easy to get a precise shape when outlining and hair like strokes when you fill in the rest of your brow.
Get it here!

OFRA Universal Eyebrow Pencil
Okay event though I just raved on and on about the NYX pencil, this OFRA pencil is a close second on my list. It claims to be universal, and I can’t attest to that, BUT it worked amazingly for my skin tone and hair color. It’s a very neutral, dark taupey brown which I feel like would be flattering on just about everyone and it went on like a charm and stayed all day.
Get it here!

it Cosmetics Superhero Mascara
This is hands down the best mascara I’ve ever used and I LOVE mascara more than anything. It 100% will volumize and lengthen your lashes with a couple coats. Just get used to it because the right amount of coats will make your lashes look fabulous but one too many will make them a little clumpy. But, I use this mascara everyday and I don’t think I’m ever switching to another mascara.
Get it here!

Too Faced Hangover Replenishing Face Primer
I’m a very oily girl so if I’ve got a long day ahead of me, I will always gravitate toward an oil control primer (even though I still haven’t found a winner yet!) but this primer still makes it onto my lips of top products. If you didn’t get a lot of sleep one night for whatever, reason, put this on your face the next day, with or without makeup and you’ll look like you got your full 8 hours of sleep and drank 2 liters of water. I don’t know how it does it, but this stuff will make your face look so nice and hydrated. Definitely a go to after a long night out.
Get it here!

Beauté Basics Chubby Eye Crayon
Okay so this is a gem I got in an ipsy bag a million years ago and I have been obsessed with it. It’s technically an eyeshadow pencil, but I have the shade BEC03 Sahara Gold which is a little too light for me, so I use it as an inner corner highlight and I AM OBSESSED. I love love love a bright inner corner highlight and this is just perfect for me. It lasts all day and it’s so bright and glowy. Love it.
Get it here!

L.A. Girl Pro Conceal
Everyone is obsessed with this concealer and it’s understandable why. For $5, it works incredibly well for the price! It adds a little extra coverage under the eye if you’re using a lighter coverage foundation, it blends out like a dream, and it doesn’t really crease if you set it with powder.
Get it here!

Skindinavia The Makeup Finishing Spray |Oil Control
Though this setting spray is pretty pricy, it was worth every penny! When I ordered it, I got a 4oz bottle of this setting spray with a .66oz sample of the Post-Makeup Recovery Spray (which I LOVE LOVE LOVE) and another sample the same size of their regular setting spray (which I gave to a friend). This setting spray absolutely helps my makeup stay on for hours and hours and other than my pesky oily nose, really helps control my oil throughout the day!
Get it here!

BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed
This is the most beautiful, bam, in your face highlighter. It is so creamy and buttery and so shimmery but not overly glittery and it’s just amazing. Trust anyone and everyone who says this is an amazing product and absolutely get your hands on one. For my skin tone, I have the shade Topaz and it’s a beautiful goldy, bronzey color. Also, I got this as a gift so thank you so much Kristen!!!
Get it here!

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge
Even though I own some expensive makeup, for some reason I have not found it in myself to buy a Beauty Blender. One day I will and it’ll be glorious, but until then I will continue to use this Real Techniques sponge because it’s amazing. It’s springy and light and blends your makeup so so well. It does hold a lot of water so make sure to squeeze it all out, but this thing is 5.99 and it’s fantastic.
Get it here!

Luxie Brushes
Every time I get one of these in my ipsy bag I cry because I love them so much. I currently have the 221 Flat Definer and the 524T. I am in love with the packaging, the pink handles are so cute, but the brushes themselves are even better. They are synthetic so they’re vegan and they are incredibly soft and just executed very well. All of the “hairs” are cut very uniformly and they work with makeup so well!
Get it here!

Befine food skin care Exfoliating Cleanser
This is probably my favorite product I’ve tried all year, THANK YOU IPSY. I love me some skincare and this exfoliating cleanser is on the top of my list of favorite products ever. It is made with brown sugar, sweet almond oil, ginger root extract, eucalyptus globules leaf oil, orange oil and oat proteins. It has an allergen free fragrance that smells so sweet and fresh, it’s paraben free, and contains vegetarian proteins. It’s not too gentle of an exfoliator but not too rough either and it just leaves your skin feeling so soft, and hydrated, and clean. This company is also just amazing and everything is vegan and cruelty free. This is absolutely a holy grail product!!
Get it here!

Simple Micellar Cleansing Water
After I discovered my hatred of one of the products you’ll see listed later on, I decided to buy this. And I fell in love. It looks like plain water, it even feels like plain water. But, it takes off every bit of your makeup and also hydrates your skin! I’ll do another post later about what exactly micellar water is, but for now, let’s just say that is amazing.
Get it here!

pur~lisse Blue Lotus Balancing Moisturizer
This is by far the best moisturizer I have ever used. Your skin feels so soft, and hydrated after using it and it has blue lotus, white tea, and vitamin e in it which are all so great for your skin. I currently still have a little sample size of it and I am going to be so sad when it runs out!
Get it here!

Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk
I am all about any product that will tame these wild curls of mine, and in my 22 years on this planet, this is the only product that has allowed my curls to reach their prime. This product includes silk protein and neem oil, and most importantly, is SULFATE FREE, paraben free, phthalate free, paraffin free, propylene glycol free, mineral oil free, synthetic fragrance free, synthetic color free, and cruelty free!! And it includes some organic ingredients. Honestly, it’s a curly girl’s dream. My curls are soft and hydrated, there’s little to no frizz by the end of the day and it’s just got amazing ingredients to keep your hair healthy and beautiful.
Get it here!

Moroccan oil Treatment
It’s winter time and that means extra hair products to keep from those strands getting dry. I just dab a little bit of this on the ends of my hair every morning and it keeps my ends nice and hydrated all winter long!
Get it here!

||Worst||

Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs, and Rose Water
Okay, this isn’t a bad product. It claims to be a refreshing and hydrating spray for all skin types and it did do the job. I love hydrating products even though I have oily skin and when I sprayed this on my face it definitely felt hydrated and refreshed. My issue with this is that apparently, I do not like the smell of rose water AT ALL. So like I said, good product, but if you don’t like rose water then pass on by this product. If you do like the smell, like literally everyone else I know, then this will be a great product for you!

Felt tip eyeliner markers in general
This year was the first time I tried felt tip eyeliner markers. I’m a gel eyeliner girl, I’ve been using it for years, but I kept getting these eyeliner markers in my ipsy bags so I kept trying them. And I hate them all. I got eyeliners from Aurora, Eyeko, ML Cosmetics and even the Kat Von D tattoo liner and I could not apply any of them correctly or cleanly and I ended up tossing all of them.

e.l.f. Cream Contour Palette
Okay, again, not an allover horrible product. The contour colors are actually okay. They’ve got some warm and cool tones in there. But, how horrible the highlight shade from the palette definitely outweighs the okay contour shades. The highlight shade is SO yellow, it is a nightmare to blend with a brush or a sponge, and if you’ve got even slightly big pores under your eyes, this highlight finds a way to make them look 100 times bigger. I would not recommend this palette even with the contour shades in it, truly one of the worst things I’ve ever put on my face.

EOS lip balm
Remember those stories way back when about people getting horrible reactions to these lip balms? Yeah, I was one of those people. I had already been using this for months and all of a sudden, I woke up with this horrible rash all over my lips and around my mouth and it got really bad before it got worse. I had that rash for about 4 days before I was able to go out in public and not look wild.

Beau Gachis Smudge Brush
I am really sad to add this product to my worst list because I have their concealer brush and it is AMAZING. But this smudge brush is so scratchy I can’t even use it on my eyes. When I first got it, I tried to fight through the uncomfortable scratchiness and it wasn’t even worth it because it didn’t even blend my eyeshadow. Definitely try their other brushes because they’re much better and this is a cute family owned business, but do not go near this smudge brush.

Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes
I know, I know. You’re probably staring at me wide eyed because everyone LOVES these wipes, but unpopular opinion, I really really disliked them. They took off my makeup fine but they just left my skin feeling so oily and like there was a film left on it. I don’t know if it’s just me but I hated the feeling of my skin after using this product and I will definitely not repurchase it!

Thank you for reading about the best and worst products I tried in 2016! This was a pretty long post so thanks for sticking it out until the end! Let me know if you guys agree or disagree or what you tried this year!

Love & light,
Leah

Leave a Reply

